34 Comments
Mar 24, 2023Liked by Cody Cook-Parrott

I’m in heaven now that On Being is back. I listened to three episodes while weaving on Sunday and felt like my best self: quiet, curious, inspired, reflective. Ada Limon reading her poem Quiet Machine gave me chills. I cried listening to Isabel Wilkerson and Krista Tippett talking about finding more beauty and joy and curiosity in ourselves as a species. Feeling the awe and joy of other people living their art and rightful paths makes me trust myself more and feel grateful for my seat on this wild life ride.

Expand full comment
Mar 24, 2023Liked by Cody Cook-Parrott

I recently learned that I have aphantasia (blind mind’s eye). Needless to say it was a shock to learn that when most people visualize they are seeing an actual image and it isn’t just conceptual. I have only ever thought in words. My creative process makes so much more sense now. At the same time, I’m also dealing with the sadness of knowing others live in a magical word of images.

Expand full comment

I’ve been digging around in Tracey Emin’s work recently, and found this documentary she did about Louise Bourgeois really moving. It’s called ‘Women Without Secrets’ and explores the idea of artists whose work speaks to each other through time, space and being.

Also a shout out for Mason Currey’s substack, he’s a bottomless fountain of interestingness!

I’m in the last week of maternity leave and am not returning to my previous work as a Comissioning Editor for a publishing house. I’ve decided to focus on my own writing, of which substack has become a really important part. Feeling so grateful that I get to explore the deep veins of creativity and art in my life. Thank you for being one of the ways I’ve been able to have the confidence to do this!

Expand full comment
Mar 24, 2023Liked by Cody Cook-Parrott

I’ve recently been enjoying anywhere Jay Shetty is showing up - his new book about love and relationships is out. Recent podcast episode of Almost 30 with him on it was one I had to rewind a few times and copy down the ideas to a note. Such a gem with some pretty unique and radical approaches.

Another push for The Creative Act by Rubin, which also makes me want to remind everybody that Liz Gilbert more or less wrote this same exact book called Big Magic a few years ago, a book that changed my life and actually invited big magic in without even claiming to.

The Eden Project by James Hollis is another book I just finished that I inhaled. The entire thing is underlined. I’ll never be without it.

Expand full comment
Mar 24, 2023Liked by Cody Cook-Parrott

For me I've been making way through Steven Pressfield's Turning Pro for the 1000th time, which constantly brings up the "shadow career," and it's always tough to stomach for me. That, plus making my way through The Artist's Way for the first time, and getting into the "inner child" stuff, and thinking back to what I USED to be so passionate about.. yeah.. just been eye opening, and sometimes tough to take in, but I'm working through it, and HAVE been getting back to my musical pursuits, even if they look a lot different than my 17 year old self may have imagined.

Expand full comment
Mar 24, 2023Liked by Cody Cook-Parrott

Fwiw I am not feeling abundant rn, more like survivalism. But here’s a comment nonetheless: I’ve never really watched the Bachelor, yet this current season has been a salve - I find it relaxing and oddly not toxic. Vibe Check podcast keeps me sane, and I’m about to start the Artist’s Way. Am cautiously optimistic, even tho I’m doing it alone. I remember that Marlee, you and a group did it a year or two ago? If anyone reading this wants to join me I would love the spiritual company 🌸

Expand full comment

I’ve been drawing plants outside, in their fall and winter forms, since October. Now I find myself looking very closely at things during my daily walks, and what was once mundane is now fascinating. Drawing is a way of noting things that I can sense but will never fully understand. I’ve been listening to the audio version of The Creative Act by Rick Rubin; feels like something I could listen to repeatedly. Lots of science fiction books too!

Expand full comment

It's On Being for me too. So good!

I'm also reading The Origins of the Wheel of Time - incredibly niche, but my inner nerd is loving it. I grew up on WoT and it's fascinating to learn more about Robert Jordan's writing process. It's eerily similar to the facets of my own process that I had perceived as flawed. Lots to unravel there. I find fiction writing has the most baggage for me of all creative mediums and this book has helped shine a light on that.

Expand full comment
Mar 24, 2023Liked by Cody Cook-Parrott

On a drive through Iowa I started listening to "The Crane Wife" essay collection. With respect to the author, I found it to be a helpful listen as I continue to practice healing from codependency. (And a surprise aspect of listening!) I am catching up on and listening again to all of Finding Our Way podcast, which is always like a balm to my brain and soul. https://www.findingourwaypodcast.com/

Expand full comment

The emergent strategy podcast and Prentis Hemphill’s finding our way podcast have been a salve. Each episode opens me to a reimagined way of thinking, a world of possibility and liberation. And +1 million to on being!

Expand full comment

The Creative Act by Rick Rubin here too. I listened to the Ezra Klein interview first not knowing who Rubin was at all. I immediately ordered the book, and got the audio book from the library as soon as it was available. It just felt like so many of my quirks and ways of being in the world and my high-maintenance spirit ways were all so validated and reflected. The peace in his voice is so, sso soothing to me right now. And boundaries! I've been feeling so much permission to rest and set limits on my emotional capacity. Also—cleaned out the basement to make art storage space and then cleaned out the studio closets too in ways that made my creative practice feel so much more expansive and abundant. And the astrological slowness of the beginning of this year (Chani devotee here too) has also reinforced permission for so much softness with myself, and a lot of self-forgiveness for things taking the time they take. The long game.

Expand full comment

i love reading everyone's comments and ideas.... i'm feeling a strong pull to check out rick rubin's book! my podcast go-to's are adrienne and autumn brown's how to survive the end of the world... half the reason i listen is to hear their sister check-ins with each other and listen to them laugh and love themselves, its so deeply and spiritually inspiring, even aside from the amazing work they both do in the world. pam grossman's witch wave podcast is my other go-to pod! she interviews witchy artists and makers of all kinds. AND i have to say marlee going through many of your classes has been deeeeeply inspring!! shapes class currently but also i've been working through past classes, organizing a day, discipline to devotion, creative attention. so as always thank you so much and to everyone in this little community. AH ALSO HOZIER just put new music out into the world and is going to be on tour this year after a 3 year hiatus!! I'm a mega-fan so these new musical gems have been blasting in my car this week!

Expand full comment

I always find myself returning to Miranda July's book It Chooses You! It's about her experience of writer's block while writing the script for her second feature film The Future - she turns to the Pennysaver as a way to connect with people in the period right before Americans became really online and travels around LA interviewing people who advertise there.

Expand full comment

Walking outside is making my mental clarity more abundant

More challenging yoga practice is making my presence (especially as a mother) feel more abundant

Calming The Fuck Down with my codependency / doing any number of things that signal to me, that I love me, and respect me, even when I'm not feeling loved by others - is making even my quietude and singleness feel more abundant (just for today)

Expand full comment

Haha , I just finished the Big Magic audiobook this morning on my way to the Department of public safety to knock out always bottom of the list mundane necessity tasks I’ve been putting off for ( over a year ) - ( also such an amazing feeling ( checking things off the list / Getting to Center **! ) currently going through a break up , I’m a slowly recovering alcoholic / codependent / love addict so of course my relationship knocked me all the way off center and spun me into a web from which I couldn’t get much of anything in the world accomplished ) and anywayyy , 💃🥹,

So good man <3 Big Magic , those last few chapters really hit me , I love love love the stories she incorporates . Really loved the bit comparing the archetypes of trickster and martyr .

Expand full comment